Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Filipino Nurse - 2011 Palanca Awardee in 3 Categories

Peter Solis Nery
A CALIFORNIA-based Filipino orthopedic nurse emerged as the big winner at this year’s Palanca Awards, garnering three prizes in different categories in rites held at the Manila Peninsula Hotel in Makati City (Metro Manila) on Thursday night.

The thrice-blessed winner, 42-year-old Peter Solis Nery—who came to the ceremony wearing a fedora and all-white suit—clinched first prize for his Hiligaynon short story Donato Bugtot.

He also earned second prize in two other categories: poetry for children for his collection The Shape of Happiness and English full-length play for If the Shoe Fits (Or, The Five Men Imelda Marcos Meets in Heaven).

The Iloilo province-born Nery, who first won in the prestigious literary competition in 1998, is poised for induction into the Palanca Hall of Fame, an honor that a creative writer can earn once he or she scores five first-place wins.

Before winning for Donato Bugtot, the nurse previously garnered first prize for his Hiligaynon short stories Lirio (1998) and Candido (2007), as well as his English full-length play The Passion of Jovita Fuentes (2008).

Twenty-two writers have been elevated to the Hall of Fame, including The Manila Times College president Dr. Isagani R. Cruz.

Other major winners on Thursday were playwright Joshua Lim So, who earned first prize for his English full-length play A Return Home and third prize for his Filipino full-length play Panahon ng Sampung Libong Ilong (A Season of Ten Thousand Noses); Ateneo de Manila University professor Allan Derain for his Filipino novel Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag (The Holy Book of Lazy Idiots) and US-based Marivi Soliven for her English novel In the Service of Secrets.

Highlights of the awarding ceremony include a staging of Remi Velasco’s winning one-act play Ondoy, a comedy about a married couple bickering on a rooftop at the height of the devastating September 26, 2009 tropical storm; and the presence of National Artist for Literature F. Sionil José, who graced the event as guest of honor.

In a speech he delivered before fellow wordsmiths and heirs of the late La Tondeña Distillery founder Carlos Palanca Sr., José lamented over the continued underappreciation of Filipino writers, whom he described as “the Chaucers, the Cervanteses and the Shakespeares of our country.”

He briefly turned political at one point, however, when he called many of those in power today as “nincompoops.”

Below is the complete list of winners:

Filipino Division
Novel: Allan Derain, Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag.

Short Story: third prize: Michael Bernaldez, Metro Gwapo.

Short Story for Children: first prize: Segundo Matias, Alamat ng Duhat; second prize: Joachim Emilio Antonio, Sa Tapat ng Tindahan ni Mang Teban; third prize: Christian Tordecillas, Si Inda, ang Manok at ang mga Lamang-Lupa.

Essay: first prize: Bernadette Neri, Ang Pag-uwi ng Alibughang Anak ng Lupa; second prize: Rosario Torres-Yu, Nagbibihis Na ang Nanay; third prize: Nancy Kimuell-Gabriel, Kubeta.

Poetry: first prize: Enrique Villasis, Agua; second prize: Rosmon Tuazon, Mga Nakaw na Linya; third prize: Christopher Nuyles, Ilang Tala Hinggil sa Daangbakal.

Poetry for children: first prize: Marcel Milliam, Ako ang Bida; second prize: Eugene Evasco, Isang Mabalahibong Bugtong; third prize: John Enrico Torralba, Manghuhuli Ako ng Sinag ng Araw.

One-act play: first prize: Remi Velasco, Ondoy; second prize: Layeta Bucoy, El Galeon de Simeon; third prize: Bernardo Aguay Jr., Posporo.

Full-length play: first prize: Rody Vera, Paalam, Sr. Soledad; second prize: Liza Magtoto, Tamala; third prize: Joshua Lim So, Panahon ng Sampung Libong Ilong.

Screenplay: first prize: Lemuel Garcellano, Tru Lab; second prize: T-Jay Medina, Huling Isang Taon; third prize: Helen Lasquite, Emmanuel.

English Division
Novel: Marivi Soliven, In the Service of Secrets.

Short Story: first prize: Asterio Enrico Gutierrez, The Big Man; second prize: Alexis Abola, Disappearances; third prize: Johannes Chua, Prodigal.

Short Story for Children: first prize: Georgina Veronica Alfar, Tom Yum; second prize: Georgianna de Vera, Tatay, Through Wind and Waves; third prize: Benjamin Pimentel, Gagamba, the Spider from the Islands.

Essay: first prize: Jennifer Rebecca Ortuoste, The Turn for Home: Memories of Santa Ana Park; second prize: Jeena Rani Marquez-Manaois, The River of Gold; third prize: Rosario Cruz-Lucero, The Stain of Blackberries.

Poetry: first prize: Eliza Victoria, Maps; second prize: Lourdes Marie La Viña, Stones and Other Poems; third prize: Simeon Dumdum Jr., Maguindanao.

Poetry for Children: first prize: Cynthia Baculi-Condez, The Universe and Other Poems; second prize: Peter Solis Nery, The Shape of Happineess [sic]; third prize: Kris Lanot Lacaba, The Shaggy Brown Chicken and Other Poems for Children (And for Chickens of All Ages).

One-act play: first prize: Floy Quintos, Evening at the Opera.

Full-length play: first prize: Joshua Lim So, A Return Home; second prize: Peter Solis Nery, If the Shoe Fits (Or, The Five Men Imelda Marcos Meets in Heaven); third prize: Jonathan Guillermo, Freshmen.

Regional Division
Short Story, Cebuano: first prize: Richel Dorotan, Ang Tawo sa Punoan sa Nangka sa Hinablayan; second prize: Errol Merquita, Isla Verde; third prize: Macario Tiu, Black Pearl.

Short Story, Hiligaynon: first prize: Peter Solis Nery, Donato Bugtot; second prize: Alice Tan Gonzales, Kahapunanon sa Laguerta ni Alberto; third prize: Kizza Grace Gardoce, Pabalon.

Short Story, Iluko: first prize: Ariel Tabag, Saddam; second prize: Juan Asuncion, Ayuno; third prize: Norberto Bumanglag Jr., Ti Agdamdamili.

Kabataan Division
Essay, Filipino: first prize: Mary Amie Gelina Dumatol, Ang Makulit, ang Mapagtanong, at ang Mundo ng Kasagutan; second prize: Abegail Joy Lee, Nang Maging Mendiola Ko ang Internet Dahil Kay Mama; third prize: Maria Bettina Clare Camacho, Isang Pindot sa Kamalayan.

Essay, English: first prize: Mariah Christelle Reodica, The Golden Mean; second prize: Scott Lee Chua, Of Pixels and Power; third prize: Leo Francis Abot, Gods of the Internet.

Source: Manila Times.Net, September 3, 2011

Related Source:

1 comment:

  1. original article by ALVIN I. DACANAY po, published in THE MANILA TIMES, sept 3, 2011 yata. i didn't see the printed form but i saw the story online at salamat!


Why waste four years to do little more than accumulate debt, when you can be earning money as an Adjuster in just a few months?! For a rewarding career, become an Insurance Claims Adjuster!

CT Airlink offers CT Limo Service to LaGuardia and CT Limo Service to Bradley Airport, JFK, LGA, Newark Liberty Airport (EWR), Manhattan, Boston Logan Airport and New York City. CT Airlink arrange Limousines for Limo Service in CT to JFK and CT Limo Service to and from Phelps Gate Yale University New Haven, Uconn, Storrs, Hartford, Greenwich, Danbury, Bethel, Southbury, Brookfield, New Milford, New Fairfield, Kent, Roxbury, Litchfield, Southbury, Middlebury, Woodbury, Waterbury, Watertown, Waterford.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...